my Year in (book) Reviews

I’m so very excited to be starting this blog, following my year through reading. The goal is one book per week, for the year. Pretty crazy, right? I know. Let me tell you why I thought all this insanity up.

In 2012, I read 23 books. While many avid readers would scoff at this number, I was pretty proud of that tally – that’s about two books a month. With my lifestyle (stay at home mom to two toddlers, full time college student), I don’t have much time for personal reading – my English major makes up most of my reading time. When I actually have some “downtime,” I prefer spending it vegging out in front of the television. Once upon a time that time was spent reading, and it kind of breaks my heart to realize that so far, in 2013, I have read 2 1/2 books. Yes, my friends, two-and-a-half-books … pretty pathetic by any standards, but really pathetic when you call yourself a “reader.” So, I created this challenge to encourage myself to read!

I have set a few ground rules:

  • No books shorter than 400 pages. I can guarantee this rule will be broken, but only for good reasons (ie: a great, shorter book comes my way, or the dreaded finals week);
  • School books don’t count (otherwise this blog would be obsolete);
  • Series will not dominate my reading – if I DO read a series, it will be spread out over the year, so you don’t have to suffer through reviews for books you don’t like;
  • Nothing “trendy” – you’ve read enough of those reviews (looking at you, “young adult”);
  • I will not bore you with one genre – we’ll be tackling them all (even the ones I hate to read);
  • I will humbly and happily take book recommendations, advice and criticism. I’m a firm believer in the idea that literature is a subjective art form, and no one opinion is right or wrong. If you hate what I have to say – let me know! I love friendly book debates, and appreciate differing opinions. You may have seen something I did not!
  • I will not allow reading to become a chore. This task isn’t to make me (or you) feel like I am forced to read. This blog will be fun, light hearted, and enjoyable, otherwise it’s not worth our time;
  • I will encourage read alongs, and hope you will be inspired to hit the library with me.

I hope you will join me in my literary adventure. Remember, no matter how busy you are, or how much time you give to other people, you need to dedicate time for yourself (this is, of course, the woman who dedicates 99.999% of her time to her kids and school speaking). Why not spend your “you” time with me?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “my Year in (book) Reviews

  1. Alyssa McCord

    Can’t wait to read your first review!!! 🙂

  2. Kathleen Werner

    Great, I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

