New on my shelves…

I’m SO EXCITED to share with you all the newest edition to my bookshelves – the new collector’s edition “Harry Potter” books – with their new cover art!

Anyone who knows me knows that the “Harry Potter” books have been, and will always be, my favorite books. They were my “gateway books” – they introduced me, at a young age, to a love of reading, and the joys that come along with immersing yourself in a great book. My stepfather, Grant, brought me home my first copy of “The Sorcerer’s Stone” when I was 11, and I’ve been in love ever since. I grew up with “Harry Potter,” and now that I have children, I am happy I can share my love for the magical world with them.

Right now, at 4 and 3, they are much too young for the books, but they enjoy the movies, which we have watched over and over again. They even think my sister’s British roommate is Harry Potter (shout out to Tanya and James).

Being a (huge!) HP fan, when I heard new covers were being released, I pre-ordered! Sure, I already own the books, but not with the new art! The way I see it is there’s a new generation of Harry Potter fans in my house, so there needs to be a new generation of books for my little girls to read, enjoy and love when they are 11.

Of course this is totally relevant to the theme of books we’re reading this month – Books made into Movies or TV shows!

So, without further ado, I share with you Kazu Kibuishi’s new “Harry Potter” covers (ps – I apologize for the quality of the photos. They were taken with a cell phone… I’m waiting on a new battery for my camera, but I couldn’t wait to share these!):

The paperback books are in a lovely little box, with beautiful art. The spines of the books all match up to show a view of Hogwarts castle:

Image

The back of the collector’s box:

Image

The covers of the books… they’re all so beautiful!

Image

The back of each book has a picture from an important scene with (of course) Harry. They each also include an important quote from the book:

Image

Needless to say, I’m very, very excited about the new books on my shelves!

What were you’re “gateway books” that encouraged your love of reading?

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “New on my shelves…

  1. Karina

    The book art is beautiful!! I love how the books can still be passed on to the next generations! These books are truly magical.

  2. Kathleen Werner

    My “gateway books” were Gone with the Wind -I read it twice in grade school (thank you Mom) and Lord of the Rings My high school favorite .
    ( thank you sister Suzan) I also loved Rebecca. It was such a mystery to me that I could never find out the name of the 2nd wife, who always refers to Rebecca – the dead 1st wife. Did she even have a name other than Mrs?

Leave a Reply

