In your words…

Keeping with the Movie/TV theme for September (that is, books that have been made into movies or tv shows) I asked followers on the My Year in Book Reviews Facebook page what they thought the WORST book-to-movie (or TV show) adaptations are. Here are a few suggestions:

Christina: “Choke, even thought I do like the movie… it’s not easy to follow on it’s own. If you haven’t read the book it’s a lot harder to get into.”

Haley: “The Host (don’t judge me) I liked the book – kind of like invasion of the body snatchers from the aliens’ point of view – but the movie was horrible. Trying to have a conversation in your head with the same voice was bad enough, but they did a terrible job with the character development. It was boring and they added action that never happened in the book. Just all around bad.” (Regina says: “No judgment from me… we all have our guilty pleasures!)

Erin: “Battlefield Earth”

Anna: “We just watched Burton’s Alice in Wonderland again and it has to be on the list of ‘MOST UNLIKE THE BOOK.’” (Regina says: “I haven’t read ‘Alice in Wonderland’ but I can’t imagine Burton’s take on it was anything like how it was supposed to be… but that’s kind of Burton’s style”)

So what to you think? What, in your opinion, are some of the WORST book-to-movie adaptations?

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “In your words…

  1. Eragon. I loved the book. The movie was stupid. Poor Christopher Paolini. I think the movie producer totally didn’t care about the story.
    Percy Jackson. The author, Rick Riordan is a pretty good story teller. Unfortunately, the movie was made just for teens and assumed that all teens are dumb.
    Can you tell I read a lot of kid’s books? I try to read the books before my kids do. 🙂

    • Thanks for reading!

      My kids are toddlers, so I don’t have to worry about what they’re reading yet, but I KNOW I’ll be reading what they do before I hand it off to them (when that time comes). I haven’t read the Percy Jackson books, but I know people who liked them. I did see the movie, and it made me not wan to read the books.

      Sad how that happens sometimes!

  2. Alyssa McCord

    Memoirs of a Geisha! Ugh!!! They spend all this time in the book explaining the culture and how they fix their hair. How it takes hours, is painful and the women are not even allowed pillows so it won’t get messed up…and in the movie free-flowing hair one minute, up ready to go the next…I don’t even remember the rest of the movie to be honest….

  3. The Bourne Identity. It’s a decent action movie, if that’s your thing… but there’s just nothing much to it. The book has so much depth that the movie ignores (or willfully removes).

  4. Kathleen

    The Stand by Steven King- I loved the book. It was a scary, mystical epic. The movie did not have the magic…

Leave a Reply

