On this day in history…

On this day in 1849, Edgar Allan Poe died in a Baltimore hospital at the age of 40. Poe is one of my favorite authors, and I find it absolutely fitting to celebrate his life (and death) as part of our Halloween theme for October.

Image

Poe is the master of dark stories, and has been captivating audiences for over 150 years. The master of mystery and macabre, Poe’s stories have shocked and horrified us, as well as touched our hearts and minds. Poe has played a huge part in my life! Reading his poetry and short stories in my American Literature class in high school encouraged me to pursue my love for literature in getting my degree in English. My second child (who is 3 now) was named after my favorite poem by Poe, “Anabel Lee” (except we spell her name Annabelle Leigh). Poe played an influential part in the Romantic Movement here in America, and is recognized as one of the greatest American writers.

Today I ask you to honor Poe’s life by reading one of his short stories or poems. I’d recommend either “The Raven,” “The Masque of the Red Death,” or “The Cask of Amontillado.” These works will help get you into the Halloween mood, and allow us to celebrate Poe’s life (and death) in the way that would make him happiest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

