Week 9 Reading: “Guilty Pleasures”

Well, folks – looks like we’ve made it through the month of October (excepting this week). Our last book for this month’s Halloween themed reading is Laurell K. Hamilton’s Guilty Pleasures, which is the first in a series involving Anita Blake, a vampire hunter in St. Louis.

Image

I had never heard of this series until discussing my Halloween book selection with my good friend, Katrina. I wanted to add something along the line of “modern vampire” (without reading Twilight), and hit on a “chick lit” (books targeted for women). I suggested The Southern Vampire Mysteries (the inspiration for the show True Blood), and Katrina said no way! Then she handed me Guilty Pleasures, and explained the basic premise to me. Anita Blake is living in a world where vampires are part of the mainstream population, and given protection by the law. She works as a consultant for the police department, investigating paranormal events in St. Louis. She is contacted by a group of vampires, and “asked” to perform a job for them, despite their knowledge that she is referred to as “The Executioner.”

Another friend commented that she has read the whole series, and said I should like them, so I’m looking forward to reading this first installment! Hope you’ll read along with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

