Week 13 Reading: “The Sea Shall Embrace Them”

Hi everyone! Sorry for the late posting about this week’s reading. My family and I are busy visiting my in-laws in (not-so) sunny Arkansas. This morning, it rained ice. Not my idea of fun, but the setting is gorgeous, and it’s always nice to be around family!

This week we’re reaching the end of our November “Month of Travel” reading, and capping the month off with David W. Shaw’s The Sea Shall Embrace Them: The Tragic Story of the Steamship Arctic.

Image

This story brings us aboard the American steamship Arctic, and discusses a fateful collision with French steamship Vesta, which killed more than 400 people. The book comes recommended from my stepfather Grant (hi Grant!), and if he goes out of his way to recommend something, I know it’s going to be good! The book jacket comes with great write ups, calling the story “heart-wrenching,” “stunning,” and calls it a story of “anguish and horror, villainy and heroism of duty and death.” Sounds pretty excellent!

I have a feeling this will be another “up until 3am on Saturday morning finishing my book” kind of week, because I have to read an entire novel, and work on three essays for school this week – along with the familial duties of visiting with the in-laws! Wish me luck, and I hope you’re reading along!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Week 13 Reading: “The Sea Shall Embrace Them”

  1. kathleen

    I am starting The Sea shall Embrace Them- tonight. My husband liked it- hope I do too. I would like to put in a book request at the local library.. What is on the December list? I love your book blog!

    • I’ll be posting the December reading list tomorrow! Just making one final adjustment. Any recommendations? I need one more for the last week, and I’m thinking “I am Regina” because it will be my birthday week 🙂

  2. kathleen

    definitely I am Regina!

Leave a Reply

