Book Review: “Holidays on Ice”

Somehow I managed to get through my three major essays due this week! It was a rough one, but as always, I looked to a book to help motivate me! This week’s reading was perfectly up to that task! Our 14th book of the challenge, this week I picked up Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris.

Image

This book contains a collection of short stories – some truthful, some fictional – from Sedaris about the holidays. The first story, “Santaland,” is uproariously hilarious. I could hardly breathe for laughing so hard, and had a hard time reading out loud to my husband, who got quite the kick out of Sedaris’s story about working as an elf in SantaLand in Macy’s. Sedaris’s honest observations about the obsession with Christmas shows (in a very funny way) how silly we can all be at the “Most Wonderful Time of the Year.”

Listen – this book is a winner! It’s intensely funny! Sedaris has a way of writing from the heart (and the funny bone). His writing style is easy to read, and his observations are astute. I had so much fun reading this book, and could not put it down.

This book would make a great holiday related read for anyone on your list this year – it’s a little bit naughty, and a little bit nice. I dare you to try to read this one out loud without laughing hysterically! I would recommend this book to anyone (over the age of 18) who needs a smile this holiday season, and desperately needs to escape the sugary coating we give to live this time of year!

Did anyone else read Holiday’s on Ice this week (or ever before)? Have you ever read anything by Sedaris before?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Book Review: “Holidays on Ice”

  1. kathleen

    Yes, Sedaris is so funny. It is that dark humor I like so much!

  2. Pingback: April Reading List | my Year in (book) Reviews

  3. Pingback: Book Review: “Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim” | my Year in (book) Reviews

Leave a Reply

