Book Review: “‘Twas the Night After Christmas”

This week we finished our second book of December’s “Month of Holiday” themed books, with Sabrina Jeffries’s paperback romance novel, ‘Twas the Night After Christmas.

Image

Okay, as I’ve said before, I am NOT a fan of romance novels. I find them tedious, ridiculous, and poorly written. I think trashy romance novels are a waste of reading time – why would I read a book with a cast of poorly-developed characters, who have a lot of sexual tension that boils over into a very brief, very disappointing sex scene? Why? For that very brief, very disappointing sex scene, I guess.

‘Twas the Night After Christmas was a story about a British earl during the last 18th Century who has been estranged – by suspicious circumstances – from his mother. He receives a letter that his mother is gravely ill, and decided to visit her before her death. When he arrives, he realizes it was just a clever rouse from his mother’s companion, the stereotypical “lonely widow with a child, who doesn’t understand how beautiful she is, and has, despite her previous marriage, never gotten in touch with her passionate, sexual side.” The two have an instant sexual attraction, despite the fact that they hate each other (… who possibly would have guessed?). They both need to overcome their fatal flaws – the Earl, his pride, the widow, her lack of self esteem – to realize that their attraction goes beyond the sexual. Blah, blah, blah.

I don’t know if you can tell, but I really wasn’t too impressed by this book. The characters are generic – attractive sex-god with a chip on his shoulder, virginal woman who doesn’t know her self worth, meddling old woman who wants to see everyone happy – and the “romance” is pretty basic. I did enjoy a few of the little twists Jeffries included in the plot, and I liked her few references to historical moments that were taking place at the time of this book (the publication of Twas the Night Before Christmas, for example).

Maybe I’m being too harsh on paperback romances. I tend to stay away from them because I feel like I’m looking for MORE out of my reading time than a generic plot, and two disappointing sex scenes. As pointed out by my lovely friend Alyssa (who is a big romance novel fan), that’s kind of the point of these books. They are light, they are easy to read, they have enough romance to live vicariously through without overwhelming our lives…

If you’re a fan of romance novels, you’ll like this book. Jeffries is a pretty decent writer (as if I could judge… I’m a reader, not a writer), and she has a way of making you stay involved in the story, even if you’re not too fond of it. If you’re looking for something “hot and steamy” this holiday season, I would recommend this book. The story is predictable, but Jeffries throws in enough “supporting” plot twists to keep you interested. This one was not for me, and this book will be making its way into a package to my friend Alyssa (meaning: I’m not keeping it on my shelf, or reading it again).

What do you think? Am I being too harsh on the genre as a whole? Have you read this book, and think you can defend its honor?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review: “‘Twas the Night After Christmas”

  1. Kathleen

    I feel the same as you do! I am not a big romance novel fan. I am half way through this book . It is slow going as I keep falling asleep. I am finding it too predictable . I look forward to your next selection .

  2. Pingback: Book Review: “Celtic Moon” | my Year in (book) Reviews

Leave a Reply

