Week 16 Reading: “Hot Chocolate for the Mystical Soul”

So sorry for the late post. My family and I had a VERY BIG weekend. Friday my husband and I went to see The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Saturday I went with my family and my friend Anna (and her family) to a beautiful Christmas event at a historic home (the Royal Governor’s mansion in North Carolina – Tryon Palace), and Sunday my two little girls had a Christmas recital. They are such great little ballerinas, and I was such a proud mom.

With all that excitement, I forgot to write about this week’s reading, which is the 16th of our “52 Books in 52 Weeks” challenge.

This week, we are keeping with December’s “Month of Holiday” theme by picking up something a little out of the ordinary. The selection is Hot Chocolate for the Mystical Soul: 101 True Stories of Angels, Miracles, and Healings by Arielle Ford.

Image

This book is a collection of stories about… well… angels, miracles, and healings. I found it in the “New Age” section of my local used book store, when trying to find something about how Yule (this Saturday!) inspired Christmas traditions, but no such luck. As I said at the beginning of this month, there was a woefully small amount of books embracing any other religion besides Christianity in this town (but what should I expect, here in the Bible Belt), and I had a hard time finding any “Holiday” related books that weren’t about Christmas.

I saw this book, and thought “Hot Chocolate is holiday related,” and that thought – coupled by my desire to at least attempt to acknowledge there are other holiday celebrations going on this time of year – lead to me buying this one. The $4.88 price tag didn’t hurt, either.

I’m not really one for the …For the Soul books. I never really feel all that inspired to read other people’s inspiring stories, but this one kind of piqued my interest in that it involves the mystical soul. Besides… hot chocolate is a lot more enticing than chicken soup (in my opinion)

I hope you’ll read along with me as we tackle this interesting book. Listen – it could be a MAJOR flop… it could be boring as can be, but I’m excited to give it a chance!

Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

