Book Review: “I am Regina”

This week, we finished up our 2013 reading, and introduced our 2014 reading (Happy New Year!), with a youth historical fiction, I am Regina by Sally M. Keehn.

Image

This book was the first “youth” novel of the reading challenge, and what a great choice, if I do say so myself! I am Regina tells the tragic, touching, and shocking story of a young girl – Regina – who lives in the mountains of the late 18th Century Pennsylvania. Her family is ambushed and scalped by Native Americans, and Regina is kidnapped and taken to their village. She is forced to live among them, experiencing her pre-teen years by coping with a new culture, strange new customs, and struggling to remember who she is and where she comes from despite being assimilated into the Native American world.

This story is beautiful. There’s plenty of real, raw emotions, coupled with an excellently told story. Keehn is a great writer – I enjoyed her storytelling as an adult, and I know it would easily impact a child. This book is a GREAT piece of youth literature, and parents seeking to encourage young readers should have this book on the shelf! The story is interesting, the vocabulary is expansive (for its 4.5 reading level), and young readers will be able to relate to the title character, who is 10 at the beginning of the book.

I will certainly keep this book on the shelves, and pass it on to my girls when they reach an age where they are looking for something good to read. In the world of video games and the Internet, children need encouragement to read, and I am Regina is a great book to help fuel the love for literature. I really enjoyed this book!

Did you read I am Regina? Can you think back on your childhood and remember any books that you will encourage your own children to read?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Book Review: “I am Regina”

  1. Kathleen

    I can’t wait to read it. I plan to start tomorrow . I love the name Regina and the person Regina Ochoa so it is bound to be good… I am halyard finishing hot chocolate for the mystical soul. I found some of the stories amazing. I loved the one of the horse visiting his owner in a dream. It had a broken tooth… Did you like that one?

  2. Kathleen

    Why did I write halyard instead if just finishing hot chocolate for the mystical soul….. Mysterious …. Perhaps I am channeling a strange forgotten language….?Atlantis?????

  3. If I have children, I’ll definitely read them The Wind in the Willows.

    • We got a beautiful copy of “The Wind in the Willows” for Christmas last year. The girls are JUST getting to the point where they can listen to stories for more than 3 minutes at a time… might be time to break it out!

  4. Haley

    My library finally got this to me. Worth the wait. It was excellent. This would be great for kids to get a look into the past. It’s hard for me as an adult to imagine what it would be like to live like Regina but to see how hard it was for her to cope when she had to live like an Indian is even worse. How hungry do you have to be to hunt and eat mice?!

    • I’m glad you read it. I think she had a bit of a “rougher” experience than we have now to start with, so I’m sure it was a bit LESS of a stretch, but really – imagine living through all she lived through?! What resolve she had!!

Leave a Reply

