Week 19 Reading: “The White Queen”

January’s reading theme is “New,” and this week we are picking up a book that is “new to me” – The White Queen by Philippa Gregory.

Image

Okay, this book isn’t technically “new,” but before you point the accusatory finger, the book is exceptionally new to me. My sister received it as a gift on Christmas morning, and having already read it, she immediately handed it to me so I could read it for my book challenge. So the book is brand-spanking-new – and there are few things I love more than cracking a book open for the first time… feeling the binding bend and that glue snap a little… carefully removing the cover because there’s nothing worse than a wrinkled book cover (YES – I know it’s meant to protect the book, but in my opinion it is meant to look pretty on the shelves!). But I digress…

I have heard a lot of great things about The White Queen. It has been recommended to me by my sister and my friend Dee (Hi Tanya, Hi Dee!). It has also been made into a TV show this past year, and gotten rave reviews (I’ll have to look for it after I read the book). Lastly, it is written by the same author who wrote another wonderful piece of regency historical fiction, The Other Boleyn Girl

I’m really looking forward to this week’s reading! I’m a huge historical fiction fan, and I always love a good, strong female lead! I hope you’ll read along with me, and kick off the new year with a great new book!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Week 19 Reading: “The White Queen”

  1. This is a quality review. Your voice is strong and eloquent. I have a book themed blog as well.

  2. This is a wonderful book. I was introduced to Philippa Gregory by my cousin. When you are through with this, make sure you read The Red Queen for another perspective on the same story. It’s just as good. Lady of the Rivers is on my TBR list this year!

    • Thank you for the recommendation! I’m very excited for this book. I’m about 20 pages in (barely a chunk) and it’s great so far. Gregory has a great voice! I’ll remember “The Red Queen” next – thanks!

  3. kathleen

    Can’t wait to read it. I liked the other Boleyn girl. This is my favorite way to get a timeline of history in an entertaining format.

    • Me too! That’s why I love historical fiction. When I find a book I love, I usually do the background research to find out more about the family/time frame. “The White Queen” is pre-Tudor rule of England. So far, I really love it!

Leave a Reply

