Book Review: “How To Kill a Rock Star”

This week, we tackled a “new” book keeping with our January themeHow to Kill a Rock Star by Tiffanie DeBartolo.

Image

I actually was gifted this book from an online drawing at The Book Bosses, one of my favorite book blogs out there. After winning the online drawing (I was shocked because I never win ANYTHING), I received this book, signed with a message from the author. Check it out!!!

Image

When I was told I won, The Book Bosses told me “I’m so jealous.” Vote of confidence #1. When I opened up the package, my amazing friend Anna was there. She snatched the book out of my hand, and explained how much she loved this book and this author. Vote of confidence #2.

This book was NOT what I was expecting… and I mean that in all good ways!

The story line is rather simple: Eliza, young woman in her mid-20s, needs to start a new life for herself. Driven by her deep, inspired love of rock n’roll, she scores a lucky interview with one of the world’s leading rock stars (and her hero). With his help, she moves from the suburbs to New York City to start her job at a huge music magazine. There she meets her brother’s bandmate (and her roommate) Paul, an aspiring rocker with more than enough talent, good looks, and passion. Their budding romance is coupled by Paul’s rise to fame – but can their love handle the riggers of the music industry?

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! I cannot say it enough. You all know (because I’ve said it time and again) that I am NOT a fan of romances, but this book has just enough love, heartache, redemption, and rock n’ roll to keep me interested. The story is actually pretty basic, but it was DeBartolo’s writing style that kept me hooked. I really felt like I was Eliza, suffering her pains and fears, enjoying her elation and successes. DeBartolo has a way of really implanting into the heart and mind of her reader, inviting us to share in the shared experiences of love, loss, and the balm music is to the soul.

DeBartolo’s underlying theme of music really makes the novel a winner as far as I’m concerned. Regardless of a person’s taste in music, I think we can all agree that music has a way of speaking to us, a way of reaching us as nothing else can. We can truly find our emotions in music, and music is one way we can share those emotions with others. The melancholy of minor keys, the passion behind lyrics, the way we are able to connect with a perfect stranger because we know exactly how they were feeling when they wrote the song… DeBartolo uses that shared experience to make us fall in love with her characters. DeBartolo speaks to my inner music lover (music worshiper?) – something which made me feel 100 times more connected to her characters than I have ever felt about book characters before.

This was a book I had a hard time putting down! I really found myself thinking about the characters during the day – wondering what they were going to do next, how they were feeling, sympathizing with their pleasures and pains. It was as if Eliza and Paul were my friends who were experiencing this story, and that, to me, is the sign of a well written book!!

The last few chapters of the book are quite a shock, and don’t be surprised if you find yourself reaching for the tissue box more than once. DeBartolo’s words are honest, raw, emotion-filled, and absolutely breathtaking! Really, folks – this is a MUST READ!!! You will NOT be disappointed that you picked this one up (and you can thank me later)!!

You need to buy this book now!! While you’re at it, buy a copy for a friend! I cannot stop singing DeBartolo’s praises. This might possibly be my favorite book of the book challenge so far (this is book #20 for those of you who haven’t been following along). I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to spread the word about this novel or this author, and I am everlastingly grateful to The Book Bosses for introducing me to both!

Any thoughts? Have you read this book, or any other by DeBartolo? Do you believe in rock n’ roll? Can music save your mortal soul? Are you inspired to pick up DeBartolo’s novel?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Book Review: “How To Kill a Rock Star”

  1. Hildy

    Awesome review, Regina! I’m so glad you loved it. You’ve made me want to reread it. I LOVED this book so much. It was the one book in the giveaway that I really wanted for myself.

  2. Angela

    I also love this book, it’s been a long time since I read it and trust me, It’s hard to find another one like it. I only found “Four Parts of the Universe” to impress me as this one did 🙂

    • Have you read “God Shaped Hole” by Tiffanie DeBartolo? I haven’t yet, but I have a feeling it will be good! What did you think of the shocker ending??

      • Angela

        I haven’t read it either! Thanks for the tip! I will) Is this also a music-related book, ’cause I’m kind of a junkie))
        In “How to kill” the ending was like a dream, because in real life i guess, there would be just suicide and depression, so I was relieved. But I’m not sure that it’s that easy to actually break up with music…
        Well, I will most certainly find Tiffanie’s other book and to return a favour of recommending me this, I also recommend you “Four Parts of the Universe”, they have a lot in common 🙂

      • Can you give me a brief breakdown so I can figure out how to put it into my book challenge? I have themes for each month!

        I always appreciate book recommendations!!!

      • Angela

        Easily) it’s a romantic novel about four people, one of them is, of course a musician. And there are two romantic lines – one in real world and one in the world of dreams. So it’s pretty exciting) You can call it a mystery, but you can also call it a romance 🙂 I think, you won’t be disappointed)

      • sounds good! Any suggestions for what of my remaining “themes” (click the “themes” button at the top of my page) this would fit in with??

  3. Angela

    Romance, women and humour could do, although male characters in this book are brighter than female, but they are definitely catchy for women 🙂

  4. Kathleen

    I finally finished How to Kill a Rock Star. It was a very good read- and a real emotional roller coaster ride.. especially the end. I was shocked- stunned and finally relieved. Thank you for the book.

Leave a Reply

